The Diaconate


Confessing Christ as Lord and seeking to give Him first place in our lives and life together, in a context of prayer and under the inspiration of the Word and the guidance of the Holy Spirit, the Church Members' Meeting is the final decision-making body of the local Church. Among other things, it is empowered to call ministers, choose deacons and appoint church officers (Secretary and Treasurer) and organisation leaders along with helping affirm the vision and mission of the Church and setting its budget . There is provision for up to seven deacons - both men and women. Church Meetings now take place at least six times per year with meetings held usually in January, March, May, July, September and November. Our Annual Church Meeting takes place in March.

The Deacons

The Deacons, together with the MInister, share responsibility for the spirtual leadership, oversight and administration of the Church. Deacons assist the minister, but also have more general responsibilities for the day-to-day running of church life. Deacons are elected at the Annual Church Meeting and serve for three years.

Lorraine Dawes - (Pastoral Care / Young People)

Lorraine Dawes 

Pastoral Care & Young People

Stuart Sandy

Pastoral Care & Property

Mary Taylor Ann Taylor

Mary Taylor 

Pastoral Care/Mission

and Treasurer

Kate Portman

Church Secretary & Prayer

Safeguarding Trustee




Jon Wheatcroft

Pastoral Care & Music


As an independent church, we are self-financing. Our main income is the offering; a smaller amount comes from room rentals. We encourage regular worshippers to consider a realistic level of giving. An envelope scheme encourages systematic giving; alternatively standing orders can be set up. Those who pay tax can increase the value of their gifts to the church substantially through Gift Aid. All giving is confidential.

The church supports its minister and a childrens and community worker. A minimum of 10% of our offering income is given away: Baptist Home Mission and BMS World Mission are our priorities.